Zero Fax given

FAX machines, although being a reminiscent of a not-so-far past, are still present in lots of office spaces and can be frequently used for business and legal communications. Most of its technology was developed decades ago and, quite probably, remained mostly unchanged over the years.

Legacy boxes, accessible via a phone call through the phone line and, frequently, connected to local networks via Ethernet. It sounds like a good plan for summertime research!

Eric Sesterhenn

Eric Sesterhenn is working as a Principal IT Security consultant for more than 15 years, mostly in the areas of penetration testing and source code auditing. Notable works include vulnerabilities in various software projects including the Linux kernel and X.org, speaker at DEF CON 2018 about smartcard driver security, speaker at Nullcon 2018 about security issues in IoT OS and being part of the winning team of the Deutsche Post Security Cup 2013.

Luis Merino

Luis Merino is a Security Engineer with over five years of experience in designing, implementing and reviewing security-sensitive systems. He has presented his work on Secure Enclaves at Black Hat and other security conferences.

Markus Vervier

X41

Markus Vervier is Head of Research at X41. Software security is his main focus of work. During the last 15 years he collected professional experience in offensive IT security working as a security researcher and penetration tester. He likes to do review code, reverse engineer the unknown, and to discover vulnerability in applications on various platforms and architectures. Notable works include: breaking U2F using WebUSB (2018), discovering bugs in the Signal Private Messenger (with @veorq) (2016/2017), finding a remote vulnerability in libOTR (2016), reverse engineering and security analysis of embedded firmware for mobile devices (Android device baseband firmware) (2015).

Social sharing

Like!

Zero Fax given

Хоть и став уже отголосками прошлого, факс-машины до сих пор используются для передачи деловой и юридической информации в компаниях по всему миру. Как правило, подобное оборудование было разработано несколько десятков лет назад и радикальных изменений с тех пор не претерпевало.
Наследство минувшей эпохи — оборудование, доступное по телефонной линии, зачастую подключенное к локальной сети…Звучит, как отличная тема для летнего ресерча.

Луис Мерино

Луис Мерино – инженер по защите информации, имеющий более полудесятка лет опыта в создании, внедрении и проверке чувствительных к безопасности систем. Луис представлял результаты своих исследований на Secure Enclaves, Black Hat и других конференциях.

Маркус Ферфир

Маркус – глава исследовательского подразделения компании X41. Посвятив свою карьеру исследованиям безопасности ПО и пентестингу, за последние 15 лет Маркус приобрел колоссальный профессиональный опыт в области «агрессивной» информационной безопасности. Он любит заниматься проверками кода, реверс-инжинирингом, поиском уязвимостей в приложениях на различных платформах и архитектурах. Маркус опубликовал целый ряд исследовательских работ: - Обнаружение баг в Signal Private Messenger (в сотрудничестве с @veorq) (2016/2017). - Обнаружение уязвимости libOTR (2016). - Реверс-инжиниринг и анализ безопасности встроенных прошивок мобильных устройств (Android device baseband firmware) (2015).

Эрик Сестерхен

Уже более 15 лет Эрик Сестерхен занимает пост главного консультанта по информационной безопасности и специализируется в тестировании на проникновение и аудите исходного кода. Эрик обнаружил ряд уязвимостей в ядре Linux и X.org, выступал в качестве спикера на DEF CON с докладом о безопасности драйверов смарт-карт, Nullcon 2018, где рассказал о проблемах безопасности IoT OS, а также был членом команды победителей Deutsche Post Security Cup 2013.

Поделись в соцсетях

Like!